Moderate Conservatives: Run away!!

I recently opined that the Republican Party should distance itself from Donald Trump and the radical right as quickly and as far as possible, as the only chance of preserving their party with anything like respectability. I have changed my mind. I think it is too late. Here is a new suggestion: Abandonment. Abandon the Republican Party to Donald Trump and the Radical Right. As soon as Mr. Trump loses in November, sensible, moderate, conservative Republican officials across the country and at all levels of government should resign from the Republican Party and form the Conservative Party. Appeal to the Sensible Center-Right and by the next mid-terms, I predict you will be a legitimate, viable voice in American politics. Abandon the Radical Right to its fate.

I am pretty solidly left of center, but boy would I be glad to meet you in the middle some day.meet in the middle

Leave a Reply

